Exacerbation

Exacerbations (relapses) are caused by inflammation in the central nervous system (CNS). The inflammation damages the myelin which slows or disrupts the transmission of nerve impulses and causes the symptoms of MS.

I don’t know what a true exacerbation feels like.  I don’t even truly know how to pronounce the word correctly.  Some major stress yesterday is likely to blame for what I felt last night.  And I know that stress can cause a relapse.

I woke up after maybe 2 hours of sleeping with a startling feeling in my right leg.  I usually wake up at some point during the night, since Andy usually needs to go to the bathroom, or the dog(s) or Kris wake me up.  I’m a light sleeper.  But I usually wake up between 2-5AM, not so soon after I’ve fallen asleep.  So I was surprised to see the time when I eventually looked.

A lot of the time I have some kind of burning, pain or discomfort in this leg, especially when laying down.  This time, though, the feeling was heavier and higher than usual.  It was a large spot above my right knee and it felt paralyzing.  I could move my leg, but it was heavy, like a sandbag was on it, and it felt as though walking would not be an easy task.  I laid in bed going through scenarios of using a cane, having to work from home, going to the doctor or hospital, how I would have the strength to pick Andy up and hold him, or get him in and out of the car or even drive normally.  Many different scenarios and they were all scaring me.

I tried positioning myself better, and going back to sleep, knowing I needed rest more than figuring out if I really was having a bigger problem or not.  It wasn’t worth waking anyone up over.  Insomnia got the best of me though and I ended up getting up to carefully walk to the bathroom.  I could walk.  I could do so normally.  This was a relief.  The discomfort was a bit less than at first, but I could still feel it, it hadn’t gone away.  I still feel some of it now, more than 12 hours later.  I’m taking things easier today.  Walking slower, taking the stairs slower, skipping my workout.  My body needs some rest.

Leave a comment